jump to navigation

Progress update May 3, 2008

Posted by thejinx in art, writing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Bear with me here while I get this thing the way I want it.  There are so many options and features that I feel like I should do more with this than I had planned.  What counts, of course, is the content, so I thought I’d do an update on current projects.

Art – I still haven’t been able to get myself seriously into comics, so art is still going a picture at a time.  The only major project in that regard is the 2009 catgirl calendar, a continuation of a series I began several years ago, but neglected to get to last year for the first time since I started it.  I did sketch out all calendar images, most of them to my satisfaction, so I do intend to make it this year, I just need to sit down and work on it.

As for other art, I never have any shortage of works in progress.  Think I’ll update with a list of them later.  At the moment, since I’m still recovering from my latest bout of crippling perfectionism, I’m feeling more inclined to work on a series of simple portraits I did for various people I know, at least to get back into the swing of things.

I do have, at some point, a 25-page comic planned, scripted, and a couple pages already storyboarded.  I came up with the idea years ago, and even drew a few panels back then, as a way to introduce myself to comics.  That I still haven’t gotten around to it makes clear the fact that I probably couldn’t handle an epic comic, but I like the story and I would still like to draw it.  One of these days, I’ll just have to sit down and make myself do it, but with the volume of works in progress I currently have on the go, I’m content to let it wait a bit longer.

On the other hand, I haven’t written any short stories in quite some time and novels have consumed my writing for a while now:

Aurius – This began as my NaNoWriMo project last November.  Three months later and roughly 70,000 words past the finish mark, I completed the story.  I’ve spent the past couple months rereading it and editing it and as of yesterday, I have begun a proposal for submission to a publisher.  Still have to work on the cover letter and rewriting it for a few different publishers.  Wish me luck.

Eyes of a Dragon – The first serious novel I started writing, this has gone through half a dozen or more different attempts, and I’ve recently begun writing it again.  This is the most current project, and I’m hoping to continue working on it until I finish.  I managed to write Aurius in four months; if I just adopt the NaNo attitude, hopefully I can get at least close to the end before this November comes up.  I actually hadn’t meant to start writing this again just yet, but I guess the characters decided it was time.

The Fire Within – Working title of a novel I finished writing a year ago and available to read on the website.  After sitting on it for nearly a year, I finally started revising it, but it’s currently stalled as I try to figure out what to do with it.  Unlike Aurius and Eyes, the things that happen in TFW just don’t seem essential to the story, and I’m struggling to figure out what I want to do with it.  At this point, I’m content to just revise it as is – that’s how the story began, as it was reincarnated from its past form as a Final Fantasy-based story – but I’m still somewhat displeased with the conflict in the second half of the story.  I’d like to get it cleaned up and done, because the longer I leave it available to read online, the less I like it as it is now – though I’ll admit, I like the way it’s written, just not the plot – but it’s at the back of my mind since I started EoaD again.

Halcyon – A fairly recent idea pretty developed and lacking only some details in the middle of the story before it can be written.  Saving this one for next NaNoWriMo, as I do predict it’ll be a bit shorter than some of my other ideas.  However, I wouldn’t be surprised if it doesn’t turn out to be.

Dreams to Tears – Old title for another originally FF-based story turned original.  I’ve been working on developing this one for a little while, as the storyline and characters are a bit deeper and more complex than most of my other stories.  However, it did occur to me recently that an idea I’ve been nursing for it makes the conflict of the story pretty much the same as in Halcyon, so it needs a little more work yet.

Picking Up the Pieces – Non-fantasy novella idea I came up with some time back which I would like to get out at some point.  Yes, this one would be shorter, without question.

Untitled thus far – A few years ago, I thought about doing an epic comic and came up with this idea for it.  Since I still haven’t managed to get off my butt and do even the 25-page comic I already have scripted, I decided to adapt it for a novel, instead.  I actually expanded on the original idea into a series.  Due to the nature of the story, I think each part will be a shorter novel, at least by my standards, but when I do get around to writing it, I would like to write it as a series.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

