jump to navigation

Notice June 5, 2008

Posted by thejinx in books, writing.
Tags: ,
trackback

I probably won’t get another calendar image done this week, and I may not get a weekly picture done, even.  It’s another busy week and going to be a busy weekend, as well.  Still working on Eyes, I’m over 25,000 words now.  Trying to make myself stick to at least the NaNoWriMo requirement of 1,667 words a day, but of course, this is happening at work, and sometimes, I have work to do instead.

When I don’t, there’s usually reading to distract me.

Starfish, Peter Watts – My third ebook from Tor books’s new website, this is the story of a research base and power generator at the bottom of the ocean next to a volcanic ridge and the twisted relationships of the made-scientists who man it, specially chosen for the job for their dysfunctionality.

This was a very gritty novel, sometimes a little too much for my taste, but the author had a remarkable way of presenting very disturbed characters.  I empathized for characters I really shouldn’t pity and their unpredictable behaviours were very natural and believable.  It was a difficult read at times, and there were parts I had to reread more than once, very slowly, to understand, yet the mix of science and drama was well balanced.  I like all the thought that went into all the various aspects of living at the bottom of the ocean, as well as the psychology behind character interactions, and the novel painted a very effective picture of a near future world.  The climax was a little abrupt, but unexpected and exciting all the same.  It was a really fascinating book and I do recommend it if you see it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

