jump to navigation

New on the shelf June 17, 2008

Posted by thejinx in books.
Tags: ,
trackback

The latest books I have read:

Touch of Evil, Cathy Adams and C. T. Clamp – This is the story of a woman with supernatural abilities caught up in a battle for succession to the throne of the vampiric parasites known as the Thrall. This was another free ebook from Tor, and it wasn’t until I had finished the book that I realized it was a thriller romance. However, even taking that into account, I found the lead characters and relationship terribly trite, and the narrator more than a little Mary Sue. I hate to use the same descriptor as I did for another novel I so recently reviewed, but when the lead character is somewhat full of herself and good at everything, and the calendar model love interest with the perfect personality is immediately and completely enamored with her from first glimpse, there’s really no other way to say it.

It could just be my preference; I am not a romance reader. But it is first and foremost a thriller novel, and the issues I had with the main character made me want to roll my eyes. The writing itself was decent, enough to move the story along, but nothing special, and the action scenes were a bit clunky and difficult to follow. The storyline at least was pleasantly complicated and kept a moderate amount of tension, even if the climax was a little unusual. This book was, however, poorly proofread, as grammar errors were far more common than in most books I’ve read, say one every chapter or two. In short, it was a mediocre read starring an unbearably inflated protagonist, entertaining enough in its short length to stave off boredom, but not something I would actively pursue.

The Cry of the Icemark, Stuart Hill – A children’s novel by a debut author about a young queen who must make allies with mystical neighbors and lead her people into war with a massive and highly advanced invading army that seeks to destroy her country. I had high hopes for this book based on the synopsis, and given that it was in the adult clearance section of the bookstore, I didn’t realize it was a children’s book until I started reading it. It was alright for a children’s book, again entertaining, but nothing to write home about. The characters are pretty stereotypical and a little exaggerated, the conflict and story simplistic, and there’s no attempt made at adding any creative spin to the well-used concepts in the story. There are Vampires and Werewolves and such things, and you’re just supposed to take them at face value when there’s enough detail in the writing that there really should be more to them. It’s not a bad read, it’s just nothing special or original. Good to stave off boredom but hardly fulfilling if searching for an engaging or interesting book.

New art to come soon, I swear. Also, I took a lot of pictures this weekend – 321 Sunday alone – so I’ll have new photos to post shortly as well, once I have time to go through them.

Comments»

1. whizbang - June 18, 2008

After viewing sep07cat.jpg, I think I need a shower. But how can I soap-out my mind?!

Ha ha, your art has improved a lot!


Leave a Reply

