jump to navigation

Heroism July 16, 2008

Posted by thejinx in books, eyes of a dragon, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Jeremy, the star of Eyes of a Dragon, holds a special place in my heart.  Not to say that my other stars don’t, but there’s a unique aspect to him that really sets him apart from all my Damians and Jakes from my other stories.  A distinguishing characteristic that really defines him in a way that not many other descriptors do.

He is a hero.

He’s not an antihero, or a reluctant hero, or just a protagonist thrust into center stage by circumstances beyond his control, as my other stars are.  Granted, there’s some of each of those in him, but this is a man who fights for justice, who selflessly protects others, who willingly accepts his duty to save the world – metaphorically speaking – at his own expense.

Eyes is kind of my pet project, at least it has been since it was reincarnated from its original rambling form written in middle school.  It’s my quintessential fantasy, a swords-and-sorcery epic with heroes struggling to defeat a menace that threatens the world.  After so many failed attempts to write it, I don’t think it’s really sunk in that I’m actually writing it successfully this time.

And so, Jeremy holds a place in my heart that none other can touch.  Because it’s hard not to want to root for the good guy.

Finished another book this weekend that I kept forgetting to review here.

Medusa’s Child, John J. Nance – This is a thriller novel about the crew of a small cargo airplane that inadvertently finds itself transporting a thermonuclear bomb to the Pentagon designed to create an EMP that would knock out computers from coast to coast.

I am a fan of fantasy and spend entirely too much time in another world in my own mind, so I think it’s safe to say I have a pretty active imagination, and I’m fairly good at suspending disbelief.  But in this novel, I found the threat to be a bit overblown.  A twenty megaton nuclear warhead is a bit out there to begin with, but also adding in an EMP powerful enough to destroy every computer in North America, all homemade by a disgruntled former government nuclear scientist?  It was hard to get into.

As the novel went on and the focus shifted more from the effects of the weapon to the more immediate concern of disposing of it safely, it improved a little bit, but the writing didn’t exactly shine.  Honestly, it read like a run-of-the-mill Hollywood action movie, straight down to the no-nonsense President who is the only one with the guts to do what needs to be done.  It was alright for a used book sale find, but it’s not a keeper.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

