jump to navigation

Writing and the steps beyond July 19, 2008

Posted by thejinx in eyes of a dragon, writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I was a lazy sot yesterday and didn’t end up writing anything for Eyes of a Dragon, but I am now officially as far along in the story as I have ever been.  Not that I’ve been using much of previous drafts – I’d wager a conservative guess of maybe two full pages from the last attempt – but from here on out, there’s no precedent.  I’m really looking forward to writing out the scenes I’ve had scripted out in my head for years and have never made it so far.

I checked out the next-latest – 2007 edition, I didn’t realize until I got home with it – edition of the Writer’s Market from the library last night.  Just spent a few minutes flipping through the fantasy listings.  I may have made an oops regarding my first two submissions so far, but I’m not too concerned about it.  Aside from not addressing my proposals to a name – which I apparently needed the Writer’s Market to obtain or else phone the companies – I think my query letters were pretty strong.  I did a good deal of research before I wrote it up and the Writer’s Market didn’t offer any suggestions I didn’t already know in that regard.

I’m a little discouraged by the number of fantasy publishers that said ‘agented submissions only,’ but it’s not a big deal.  Ultimately, the reasons I have chosen to represent myself to publishers are that I would prefer to have complete control over the discussion of rights and such and that it seemed to me the process for acquiring an agent was essentially the same as sending out proposals for publication.  So, I figured if I’m going to have to write up the query letters and send out a bunch of paper copies and SASEs, I might as well do it with the part that counts.  I’ve done my research and I’m going to be a little arrogant and say that I think I wrote a pretty good query letter.  I’m expecting rejection before acceptance and I’m okay with that.

I need to take some more notes on publishers and start up a spreadsheet regarding the proposals I have sent out already.  It makes sense, as suggested in the 2007 Writer’s Market, that organization is an important aspect of this business.

Should be getting a response from the e-mailed submission within a month or so.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

