jump to navigation

Bizarre kind of flattery September 9, 2008

Posted by thejinx in art.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, would you look at that.  Somebody’s stolen my art.

Ennki on DeviantArt

I’m surprised and, yes, a little flattered that this person likes my art enough to… want to be like me?  I don’t know.  I’m not angry or upset, more surprised than anything.  I’m really not concerned about people using my art or even wanting to claim it as their own; people who would do that clearly have bigger problems with self-esteem, delusions, or some other issue for me to be very worried about it, and I get something much better out of saying I drew something than someone else – satisfaction for a job well done.  This, incidentally, is why I was completely happy with a friend of mine claiming my art as his own when he asked me for help with homework assignments, but that’s another story.

I know my art is open to all sorts of unsavory uses on the internet, but the point is that I’d like it to be seen.  I don’t believe in slapping huge watermarks over my art, ruining the picture I’m trying to share.  And if someone gets some misguided satisfaction from being given credit for something they didn’t do, well, good for them.

Still, it’s hard not to leave a mischievous comment with a link to my DeviantArt image page about Ennki’s image being too small.

I’ll leave you now with an updated scan of the Simon Belmont sketch, which I was able to work on during the flight out west:

Pictures from the trip will come soon, once I have the time to go through them.  It’s a busy week.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

