jump to navigation

Hurricane Ridge September 25, 2008

Posted by thejinx in eyes of a dragon, photography, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The final photo from Washington has been posted:

Yeah, there’s really no way to grasp this image except at full size, so do feel free to click the thumbnail and view close-up.  This photo was pieced together by hand in Photoshop out of five 16:9 pictures I took at the top of Hurricane Ridge in Olympic National Park.  There’s really no other way to grasp the immensity of the views there.

A burst of inspiration yesterday brought together some disconnected ideas for a story long in the works – really, my third developed novel idea, after Eyes of a Dragon and The Fire Within – which means that I have another story that’s pretty much ready to write.  Need to outline the story arc so I at least have a vague idea of where it’s meant to go, and world-build.  It’s a shame that all my different fantasy novels have different methods when it comes to magic, so I can’t reuse worlds I’ve already spent the time to develop.

So, that story, working title Dreams to Tears, is ready to write, and after the development I did for TFW recently, I think that one’s about ready to rework/rewrite as well.  These are in addition to the still untitled, failed epic comic turned novel, the opening of which I have already written, and Halcyon, my NaNoWriMo project for this year, which has been pretty much ready to write for some time.  I may lament about not having enough time to write, but I hope I never run out of ideas.

I did finally finish up the last scene I began writing in Eyes about a month and a half ago, I just need to sit down and force myself to start writing and continue with it.  I’m currently in a lull as the main characters have split up, with one group having a lot going on and the other with hardly more than character development to fill the time and pages.  There’s certainly enough of that, what with recent story events, to be interesting, it’s just the starting that I stall on.  Once I get past this part, I should be fairly good through ’til the end of the story, though given that I still don’t have a clear world built, I’ll still have a bit more cleaning up to do.  Still, I’m optimistic.

No time to work on the story this weekend, sad to say, as we’ll be out yet again.  Jans and I are attending Phantasm, a small gaming convention in Peterborough, Ontario.  While it seems unlikely anyone reading this would be able or interested to go, if you happen in on the con, stop by the Classic Battletech table.  Jans and I will be the only ones running it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

