jump to navigation

Because clearly, I’m not busy enough already October 13, 2008

Posted by thejinx in music.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Jans and I went up to his mother’s place this weekend for Thanksgiving and helped her move in with her boyfriend while there.  As both of them have lived alone for quite a few years, she was feeling very generous with things she would no longer need, and various objects were being given away en masse.

I came home with a guitar.

This was, incidentally, the very guitar Jans had for years and had never learned to play, which I asked him about a little over a year ago when I was feeling inspired to get back into music, but at that point it had gone back to his mother.  Her boyfriend, who seems to have been interested in nearly every hobby known to man at some point in his life, helped me play around with my guitar as well as some of his and set me up with some instruction books and a CD.

I noodled my way through Celes’s theme from Final Fantasy VI and Aeris’s theme from Final Fantasy VII (hah, different as they are) playing by ear and started on the first bars of Johann Pachelbel’s Canon in D before we came back yesterday.  I have since downloaded some more tabs, primarily of more music from FFVI, and thus far am having entirely too much fun learning to play.

On the bright side, it is a very relaxing hobby so far and I don’t need to worry about writing music taking up too much of my scant free time, as composing has always seemed to elude me, even when I was interested in it.  We’ll see how this goes.  I’m looking forward to learning to play this instrument.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

