jump to navigation

In the Midnight Hour October 18, 2008

Posted by thejinx in books.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

It’s taken a while, but I’ve finally gotten through another book.

In the Midnight Hour, Patti O’Shea – This was another of the ebooks I received for signing up for the mailing list for Tor’s new website.  It’s the story of a young magic user in a secret society called the Gineal as she frees a man from being imprisoned in a cartoon and struggles to defeat her old mentor, who had turned evil while she was still the woman’s apprentice.

Books like this are the reason I wish I wasn’t so stubborn about finishing what I started.  Given that this title was published by Tor, one of the largest English language scifi/fantasy publishers, I would never have expected that this book was in fact a romance novel.  I have mentioned before that I am not a fan of the genre, but I had no personal experience to say for certain.  Having read this, however, I can say beyond doubt that this is not a genre I am interested in.  It was trite, it was predictable, and there was an excess of graphic sex scenes thrown in solely for the purpose of arousal.

That, however, isn’t the main problem I had with this book.  Fine, I didn’t pick it, it’s the genre, I don’t care for it but I’ll slog through it.  What really ate at me was how utterly amateur the writing was.  Between the constant swearing, downright obsession with sex, poorly defined world less believable than Harry Potter, and narration that sounded like something you might hear in a high school cafeteria, this book seriously read like it was written by a fourteen-year-old.  There were some aspects of the plot that were interesting and the characters for the most part are consistent.  But I’ve read teenagers’ LiveJournals that sounded more mature.  Unless Tor has a romance novel division that I was previously unaware of, I honestly cannot imagine how this book was published – and even if it was, I’ve read a lot of stories that focus on a relationship between two characters that were better.

Where the complimentary quote that provides the only accent to the book’s cover came from, I don’t know, but the long and short of it is, if you see this book in a store, avoid it like the plague.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

