jump to navigation

New beginnings November 1, 2008

Posted by thejinx in halcyon, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

And day one of NaNoWriMo comes to a close.  The circumstances are perfect to start out the month; it’s started on a Saturday, immediately followed by a day with an additional hour to it, and I have no plans for the weekend.  So, my expectations of progress keep going up.

My personal goal has been to hit at least 2,000 words a day, rather than the 1,667 required to hit 50k by the end of the month.  It’s really not much more to write, and I have been known – during exciting scenes, anyway – to write five thousand words in an afternoon.

Given such favourable circumstances for the start of the month, though, I figure that there’s really no reason why I shouldn’t be able to hit that much this weekend, so it’s ended up being something of a goal for me to get to 10,000 words before the weekend’s up.

I actually stayed up past midnight last night to start writing, but I wasn’t really feeling it.  I ended up scrapping what I wrote and starting over a few minutes earlier in the story this morning and got my 2,000 words by early in the afternoon.

I did make it to 5,000 within the last half hour, though there’s a section of about 1,000 words which I’m not really happy with and don’t feel right including it in the word count.  Given the success of Aurius last year, and the fact that despite the reckless attitude of NaNoWriMo I am still a perfectionist, I am not doing this just to write 50,000 words.  I am here to write a good novel.  Knowing as soon as I write a section that it will be scrapped makes it feel wrong to include the section in my word count.  But, I simply don’t have the time to write another – good – 1,000 words.  I don’t need to make it to 10,000 good words by the end of the day tomorrow, anyway.

I’m feeling mildly disappointed now because that was sort of the way my writing of the day ended, but it was a productive first day, especially considering I fit in a movie viewing and finishing up a new picture – coming later – in among that, as well as several breaks involving pacing, chatting on the phone with my mother, and eating, among other mundane things.

It’s a promising start, though I am still concerned about the potential length of this story, because simply not very much is going to happen.  Knowing my descriptive writing style, it’s probably a pretty safe bet that I have 50,000 words of material here, and hopefully this story won’t surpass that by a good 70,000 words like Aurius did.

Comments»

1. roshacla - November 2, 2008

Thanks for the look and the compliment. I see you have no problem getting your writing done, but I will wish you luck anyway! Maybe we can do an exchange when this is all over (if I actually finish mine that is).


Leave a Reply

