jump to navigation

Day 6, the hump November 6, 2008

Posted by thejinx in halcyon, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’m starting to learn something in this, my second real attempt at NaNoWriMo: the longer the story, the better.  When I stop to think about it, it makes sense.  It’s a lot more satisfying to really push myself and churn out at least 50,000 words of a novel totaling 100,000 or more than to write a 50,000-word novel to completion.  Granted, I don’t exactly have experience with the latter to say as yet, but it’s a lesson learned regardless.

Suffice it to say, due to a somewhat busier day at work today and a terribly lazy – but relaxing – evening, I’ve again fallen well short of my daily word count, both in my personal goal and the required count to make 50,000 by the end of the month.  Unfortunately, I won’t have the opportunity to catch up tomorrow, either, as we’re going to visit family two and a half hours away pretty much as soon as we get home from work.  Perhaps what I need is some good old-fashioned falling behind in my word count to rekindle the determination and stubbornness to win that’ll churn out the words.

I’ve realized, though, that I think a big problem I’m having with Halcyon is that I’ve been visualizing it as more of a movie.  The opening fit a movie far better than it would a book, and the general progression and visualization of scenes I’ve had in my head lean more towards a movie than a book.  Perhaps I need to skew the scenes I have in mind just slightly, as I did with the opening, to bring more out of it.  It’s a very visual world; there’s lots of room for me to expand on that alone.

Likely no updates to come until Sunday.  Hopefully I’ll return with a nice chunk of new words to show for it.

Comments»

1. janflora - November 11, 2008

I am thinking that I may end up with more of a 50,000 beginning and middle. I just hope I do not give up before the climax…I understand what you mean about seeing the scenes like a film…it is for me to translate my ‘scenes’ to the novel sometimes…maybe you will be ready to try the Script Frenzy they have in April!

2. Claire - November 13, 2008

I just wanted to say, I totally understand the angst that comes along with envisioning your novel as a movie–there are some things that you can show so much better in a visual form than in the written one.
I just like to think that if I can somehow translate the way I want to “see” the scene into writing, that hopefully, it’ll bring some of that richness into it.


Leave a Reply

