jump to navigation

Day 23, crawling out November 23, 2008

Posted by thejinx in halcyon, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Been quiet here lately.  It was not a very productive week, for writing or much of anything else.  I’ve depleted the surplus word count I created at the beginning of the month and, in fact, since I don’t imagine I’m going to do any more writing before going to bed, I’m going to be falling behind where I should be at this point in the month.  I tried to make myself write, but between trying to care for a sick spouse and not feeling great myself, it just didn’t happen this weekend.

But I still have another full weekend, and hopefully I’ll be feeling better by then.  It’s going to be a challenge, though.  This week’s looking to be busier at work, so I need to keep myself off Sudoku puzzles during my lunch break and try to get writing in while I can.

For those who have done NaNoWriMo before this year, I’m curious – what did you do with your novel after November ended?  Have you cleaned it up and offered it for viewing or submitted it for publication?  Gutted or recycled the good parts for another story?  Let it languish in a dusty corner of your hard drive?  I’m interested to hear responses.

Comments»

1. scribofelidae - November 23, 2008

I know you’re pain – I’m behind and it’s driving me insane. 🙂

My first successful NaNo, my 50,000 words were only part of the story. I still had another 35,000 to go, which I pushed through over December and January. I took a week off and then tried to edit the whole thing, traumatizing myself in the process. Haven’t touched it since.

I am the poster-girl for how not to do it. 😀

2. scribofelidae - November 23, 2008

Crap. You’re = your … of course. Ack. I need sleep! Or less caffeine. One of the two. 😉

3. janflora - November 23, 2008

It is definitely hard to kep up when you are sick and have to take care of others. We are all just recovering from Flu Week and now I am writing like a mad woman to catch up. Have a great final week!

4. aspiringgeek - November 24, 2008

Good luck with the rest of the challenge! Even though I won’t finish mine, I’m going to keep it and perhaps keep tinkering and working it. Who knows?

5. sonya - November 24, 2008

I edited several of my NaNo oevres, but I’ve never gotten round to doing all the rewrites they needed. I’ve promised myself that this time, I’ll edit the beast and send it out, though.

6. masksoferis - November 25, 2008

Hiya.

I’ve done NNWM twice before, and the clean-up took months — now and again I’d open the file, read a bit, and then the neighbor would again hear me screaming about “They puts mistakes into my text! And where’d this continuity error come from? Not my pen! Never!”

After a few weeks I’d repeat this and get through another 10 pages and another 10 errors.

Ah, and the only readers have been a couple of friends at the university, and my brother who has the same quirks and obsessions as me. (As me? As I? How lucky I write in Finnish and not in English!)

(Oh, 45 515 / 50 000 and going to finish on Thursday.)


Leave a Reply

