jump to navigation

The Time Traveller’s Wife January 17, 2010

Posted by thejinx in books.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The Time Traveller’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger – Henry DeTamble has an affliction which causes him to spontaneously travel through time at random moments.  His hectic life and coping mechanisms are turned upside down when he meets Clare Abshire, who shows up and tells him that she has known him all his life, and that in his (linear) future, they are married.  Their relationship endures and struggles through years as he learns about her, both in the present and in the past.

I’d heard enough about this book, of course, and it had been on my reading list for a while, so when my mother-in-law offered to lend it to me, I was happy to oblige, and I can understand why it’s so popular.  The story was compelling and excellently laid out, very emotional and very enjoyable.  I was somewhat impressed – and admittedly, a little envious – that the stars were more learned than me, something I don’t often see in books, especially not in a way that doesn’t seem haughty or in-your-face.  I was also impressed with the way the author laid out a very non-linear story – not just in regards to jumping through time, but in the fact that in the present story, there is no particular climbing action or goal that the story is working towards – in a way that still firmly kept my interest and made it seem linear.

This book did have a very specific literary nature to it; two days after finishing it, it’s still a great book, but aside from the basic concept and and its particular cast/layout it’s more or less standard drama, without much that really stands out on its own.  That said, I found the writing very engaging and I’ll admit that few other books have made me cry while reading them.

All told, I would certainly recommend this to just about anyone.

Comments»

1. Rachel - January 22, 2010

I love this book!! Good review!!

2. thejinx - January 24, 2010

Thanks!


Leave a Reply

