jump to navigation

Flash fiction: Unexpected Encounter April 27, 2010

Posted by thejinx in writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve been sitting on some short-short stories for a while in the hopes that I might be able to submit them to contests or magazines, but I just don’t have the time or energy to expend on trying to sell such brief snippets.  So, here’s the first of some flash fiction I’ve written over the past six months.

A yawn rose up out of my throat as I strode down the narrow corridor leading out of the cafeteria.  My friends don’t understand why I like the evening shift, but I can get so much more done during the day when I don’t start work until 3:00.  And at least the cafeteria at the office is open late.

Clutching the styrofoam container holding my penne marinara, I glanced up at the curved mirror placed outside the adjoining hall, feeling glad for its installation.  It’s a blind corner coming out of the cafeteria and I swear, I’ve avoided at least half a dozen collisions with people coming in since they put it up.  No distorted reflections appeared in the mirror down either direction of the hall aside from my own, so I casually turned out into the hall without slowing my pace.

And ran directly into someone.  I let out a small yelp as I grabbed at my dinner before it could spill out, and only when it was steady did I look up to see the dark-haired man standing expressionless before me.

“Excuse me,” he stated calmly, his eyes barely passing across mine as he slid around me and entered the cafeteria.  Frozen, I could only gaze after him as he strode down the hall.  Slowly, I raised my eyes to the mirror again.  Only my own reflection moved within it.  Swallowing uneasily, I continued down the hall towards my office.

Suddenly, I wished I’d gotten the garlic bread with my dinner.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

