jump to navigation

A novel for July? June 25, 2010

Posted by thejinx in writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Carter Foxx, Meridia Aeslynn, and Beauregard "Bo" Masterson - Earth's greatest hope for freedom.

Inspiration struck with a vengeance last week, breathing life into characters I haven’t thought seriously about in some years and flinging them into a story of their own.  I’m still not sure where it came from, nor do I recall how the entire first half of the story first came to mind so abruptly, but I won’t complain.  It sounds interesting.

As usual, I have other novels I would rather finish before beginning something new, but this isn’t the first time a new story has completely consumed my mind, and I have experience to say that even if I say right now that I’m going to write this for NaNoWriMo in November, the drive will be quite gone by then.  So, instead of letting this idea fade to the recesses of my mind where other muses have been waiting long years for their time in the spotlight, I’m strongly considering turning this into my own NaNoWriMo for July.  I’m not sure the story is quite developed enough to write something that won’t need significant reworking down the line, but who knows?  I had less of Aurius planned out when NaNoWriMo 2007 began, and that’s still the best thing I’ve ever written.

I may not make 50,000 words.  Our summer is getting busy, and unlike November, I have softball every week occupying what could otherwise be useful writing time.  But, at least I will have something, and this story that has burrowed intensely into my consciousness now will not merely fade away to the back burner like others have.  I’ll just have to make some stuff up along the way.

Wish me luck.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

