jump to navigation

On your mark… October 31, 2010

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, nanowrimo, writing.
trackback

Once again, it’s time for NaNoWriMo, that annual month of writing madness in which people all over the world type their fingers to the bone to churn out a 50,000-word novel inside of November.

As with the past three years, I am participating in NaNoWriMo.  And as with the past three years, I plan to win.  This year, instead of writing something new, I am rewriting the first novel I wrote to completion.  This is actually the second rewrite of Ghost’s Reflection/The Fire Within/Chaos Enduring.  The first was a remarkably unplanned semi-fanfiction that nonetheless went farther than anything I had written before — and probably longer than anything I’ve written since — and the second was a slightly better planned original take that still meandered somewhat.  Characters have changed dramatically, scenery has changed, and of course, the writing has improved by leaps and bounds since its first incarnation began over 11 years ago, but at its heart, it is still the same story I thought might be fun late one night before writing over 100 chapters for a shared world.

It’s a story about a young woman caught up in a battle for revenge as old as the gods themselves.  Damian Sires is now one of my oldest surviving characters, even though she was created on a whim and introduced to the world within a day of her conception.  While this version of the story presents more than a few challenges in terms of scale, depth, and staying focused, I’m feeling very optimistic about writing this.  There are more than a few parts from the previous draft that I rather liked, but I think it’s a good thing that I’m being forced to leave it all behind and start fresh.

Please feel free to visit my profile on NaNoWriMo if you’d like to watch my progress or if you’re writing along.  I always enjoy speaking with other participants and I love hearing about the novels other people write, so please feel free to leave comments here.  If you’re interested in reading more about my novel this year, feel free to visit the novels section.  Best of luck and happy writing to all participants.

In just over an hour, it begins.

Comments»

1. manicddaily - November 5, 2010

Rewriting an earlier novel is such a great idea. I didn’t think of such a plan, but I think part of my problem with commitment this year (I’ve also done Nanowrimo a few times) is that I’ve got a few old novels kicking around that need work, and I am sort of internally hesitant to start on something completely new. I’m not going to change courses, but I wish I’d thought of that!

thejinx - November 5, 2010

Heh, sometimes I wish they’d just come out well the first time! But I completely understand that compulsion. I actually look at NaNoWriMo as a reprieve from whatever big project I’m working on at the time, though now I’ve done it a few years, I kind of want to clean up and finish some novels rather than start new ones as well. Good luck with working on yours!


Leave a Reply

