jump to navigation

Day Five: The First Close Call November 5, 2010

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Down to the wire, I just managed to eke out 1,678 words by 11:55 pm, though I wouldn’t call it a success.  A busy day and a sudden compulsion to review recently downloaded music – though I don’t regret the latter, and incidentally, I highly recommend the Celtic stylings of Mark Gunn – left me with a daily total of 0 words up until 10:30 tonight.  As a result, I rushed through tonight’s progress, providing little deviation from the last draft and even less quality writing.  While it’s not necessarily a bad foundation for what’s actually going to happen, I can already say that perhaps all of what I wrote tonight will have to be scrapped.

Ah well.  The foundation is the important part, and I did get my daily word count in, if barely.  I’m tempted to ease up on my personal word count goals, given the head start I have now, and considering I don’t need to worry about the “unsuccessful days” tally that has now been removed from the NaNo statistics.  But, tomorrow looks to be a much quieter day, one that I can hopefully use to make some real, good progress.

(As a side note, I apologize for the wordiness of this post.  Forcing out as many words in as little time as possible is not an easy gear to switch from.)

Comments»

1. violin-writer - November 8, 2010

Regarding your side note, yes, I find myself doing that too. Words words words even when not entirely appropriate. 😉

I think the PTB at NaNo got rid of that “unsuccessful days” tally for just that reason. It even bugged me, and I have no word count worries. Having anything in that “unsuccessful” category would have bothered me.

Happy writing 🙂

thejinx - November 8, 2010

*grin*

Yes, it seems a number of people had issues with that stat. I mean, it is irrelevant when one has a lead, and/or cannot update the word count in a day for whatever reason.

Happy writing to you, too!


Leave a Reply

