jump to navigation

Day Eight: Taking It Easy November 8, 2010

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Personal life intruded on yesterday and today’s writing, as I accidentally got my birthday present early – Rock Band 3 for Wii.  Coupled with a desire to relax, I only got one day’s word count out both yesterday and today, but I’m not disappointed by that.  I have enough of a head start that I think I can ease up on my daily word count, and it makes 1,667 seem a lot shorter.

The story is coming along pretty well.  In less than 20,000 words, I’ve brought the story to a point that took 36,000 words to get to in the last draft.  Although some of the last few days’ work seems a little rushed, I think overall the pace works a lot better this way.  As much as I enjoyed the extended character development in the previous draft, the story is picking up a lot quicker this time.

It is still kind of strange to be at this part of the story already, though.

Comments»

1. zingarapoet - November 8, 2010

I think if I got Rock Band II for my Birthday I would be tempted to give up NaNo all together. Have fun with your game!

thejinx - November 9, 2010

Hah! I’m lucky at least not to be working at the moment, so I can indulge both passions. Rock Band 3 is certainly compelling, though. Best track listing yet, IMO.

2. rachaelwashington - November 8, 2010

Ah, the evils of videos game. I just got over playing a MMO right before NaNo. I’m trying to not look at games until after November. Then I’ll probably immerse myself in them. Congrats on fixing your pacing! I wish you many more words to come.

thejinx - November 9, 2010

I certainly understand that. I was trying to avoid Rock Band 3, at least until my actual birthday, but my husband wanted me to play. Such a troubled life! Many more words to you, as well!


Leave a Reply

