jump to navigation

Day Twenty-Three: Finding the Track Again November 23, 2010

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

By this morning, I was just about ready to throw in the towel.  Between a busy weekend making me fall behind in word count, increasing dissatisfaction with my novel and not knowing how to remedy that, and general personal issues making me think that I should be spending my time working on something I’d rather enjoy writing, I was already crafting my concession speech before I got up this morning.  I hadn’t written a word since Thursday and by then was not even a day ahead in my word count.

Then, this morning, I finally realized what was wrong with my novel, and why I had become so unenamored of it.

There was too much of my main character.

She is the star, undoubtedly, and the one around whom the rest of the story revolves.  But all the other characters have their own agendas, and at least some of them are just as important to the story as my star.  While my star’s journey seemed to be stagnating, these other characters were desperate to tell their stories.

So, today, I did just that.  According to my stats page on NaNoWriMo, I have to write 2,800 words per day to finish on time, so I wrote that much today, almost entirely from the points of view of characters other than my star.  It has enlivened the story, and the idea of writing 1,200 more words per day than I should even have to no longer seems so daunting.

Maybe, if I can retain this interest, I can start writing 3,000 words per day to start catching up again.

Comments»

1. Catana - November 23, 2010

I appreciated your comment on my post.

If you can do one rip-roaring day with a high word count, you won’t have to put so much pressure on yourself the other days. Like you, I found that I was concentrating to much on my main character. Bringing the others out of the shadows makes the story richer and fuller, so if you’re struggling for words, that’s one way to do it. Best of luck.

thejinx - November 24, 2010

Thanks for the suggestion. It would be nice to really push myself for just one day to ease up the requirements for the rest of the days, though I still have a lot of work to do around home. No plans for the weekend, yet, though!

2. Arianwin - November 23, 2010

Go Go Go! You can do it! Will you be posting your story online eventually?

I just stumbled upon your blog thanks to your comment on mine. I’m going to subscribe. It’s great to see other WriMos blogging about their experience. By the way, I read your bio. I’m also from Canada and also use to work in publishing. Small world, huh? Or perhaps NaNoWriMo just attracts a similar crowd. LOL.

thejinx - November 24, 2010

Thanks for the encouragement, and for subscribing! It’s great to hear from a fellow Canadian. It’s hard to tell sometimes if it’s coincidence or NaNoWriMo.

I’m actually planning to publish this novel once I get it finished and cleaned up. It’s the second in a series, the first of which was written by my husband, and hopefully I’ll at least be able to get his published next year.

3. kitdunsmore - November 24, 2010

My advice is to write like crazy while you have the ideas and inspiration. Even if you can’t catch up fully, you might be able to get daily word count requirement down with a few really high count days.

Either way, best of luck hitting 50K. I guess if you’re in Canada you don’t have a holiday weekend to take advantage of, but that will make your triumph in the end all the greater.

thejinx - November 24, 2010

Thanks for the suggestion. I don’t think I want to overdo it, though I will push for at least my required word count at least so I don’t fall further behind. Hopefully I can get some of those really high count days in.

And at least I don’t have long family visits or fancy dinners to distract me from writing!


Leave a Reply

