jump to navigation

Day Thirty: Success! November 30, 2010

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

It turns out NaNoWriMo’s stats page made it a little easier these last few days, as its counter for words per day required to finish on time was a day short.  So, by Friday, I needed only write 2,000 words per day.  I pushed myself a few hundred extra yesterday to hit 48,000, and even after OpenOffice’s generous word count meant I had an additional 1,000 words to write after thinking myself already complete, I made it.

I feel pretty good about my novel this year, as well.  It’s rough, even the good parts, and some of it is rushed, but unlike the last couple years, I have a pretty good foundation with which to make a decent novel.  Of course, it took at least a few months for me to take issue with my edited 2008 novel, but even still, I’m optimistic about this one.

I haven’t put very much thought into what to do now.  Considering how much free time I have at the moment – and how much I won’t have this time next year – I should probably just keep writing until I get to the end, but it’s not a burning desire to finish like my 2007 novel.  I’d kind of like to get some comments on it from friends first, but perhaps I’ll force myself to continue writing anyway.

In any case, for better or worse, the only pressure left to finish this novel is my own.

Comments»

1. Arianwin - December 1, 2010

Congrats! Hoorray on finishing!!! =D

thejinx - December 2, 2010

Thanks!

2. ravenwaves10 - December 2, 2010

Congrats on finishing!!! I did too! I know what you mean about the free time. I don’t know what to do wiht myself.

thejinx - December 2, 2010

Thanks and congrats to you, too! Well, there’s always another project on the horizon, right?


Leave a Reply

