jump to navigation

Fresh beginnings January 6, 2011

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

So, it’s a new year.  New starts, new possibilities, and new goals.

Not something I’ve necessarily taken to heart in regards to creative endeavors.  Starting off the year with a nasty cold hasn’t helped, but in general, I’m accepting that this year will not be a productive one for me.  I have no particularly pressing projects or deadlines I want to have finished, so I’m just going with the flow.

I have begun making progress with Ghost’s Reflection, my NaNoWriMo novel, however.  While most of what I wrote cannot be salvaged due to post-November story development, I have drawn up an outline for most of a much stronger story.  Holidays always tend to take a toll on creative output, and I don’t tend to get much done in the week between Christmas and New Year’s, either, but in the interest of getting the words out, I’ve decided to set myself a goal of writing one scene a day.

Again, I’m not exactly being stringent about this; I fully expect there will be days I don’t manage it, if I even manage to start a scene on some days.  But I’ve managed to meet that goal for the past two days, and felt a personal victory when the cold sent me back to bed this afternoon only under duress, as I just wanted to keep writing.

It’s a modest goal, admittedly, but not only does that make it more attainable, but reaching it would mean writing my entire current story map – up until rather late in the story, I should say – within about a month.  Sounds like a reasonable enough resolution to me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

