jump to navigation

Day Five: On track, for a change November 5, 2012

Posted by thejinx in enduring chaos, nanowrimo, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I would be lying if I said I missed NaNoWriMo last year. I had plenty else on my mind, what with a tiny helpless person to care for, and I had my own writing project to occupy my mind, editing my second book Halcyon.

However, I did miss this feeling. This camaraderie from knowing that other people, a lot of other people, are fighting the same fight. Writing is a solitary journey for me. Most of the people I know, particularly family, don’t really understand my passion for writing, and especially not for writing fantasy.

I have long accepted this truth, as I have been writing fantasy since before I even really read any fantasy. In fact, the idea that writing is strictly a solitary journey is so ingrained into me that the thought of writing together with others seems intimidating.

And yet I am doing exactly that. As my (comparatively) smaller town doesn’t have its own region in NaNoWriMo and the large region nearby doesn’t really cater to those of us living a little outside the big city, I have taken it upon myself to organize write-ins with others in my area. The first of these begins tomorrow. I am anything but a social butterfly and have never successfully attended a NaNoWriMo event, so it will be an interesting experience.

Not to say that I have never done any writing with others. In fact, the first draft of Enduring Chaos was written for a shared world for which a few dozen authors contributed. Earlier still, back in high school or junior high I wrote an entire novel together with a friend. And of course, these days my husband provides a constant source of inspiration, encouragement, and idea-bouncing. It is always nice to know that others share one’s passion.

But perhaps I do write best alone. Today was my most successful day for writing yet. Not only did I write the 600 words I fell short yesterday, and not only did I make my suggested daily word count of 1,667, but in fact I reached my personal goal of writing over 2,000 words on top of what I needed to catch up.

Why was today so much more successful? Perhaps something clicked with the story at last, but as far as I can tell the reason is far more basic than that. The little one went down for an early nap today, before I was prepared to have one as I usually do, and I spent the time writing instead. Without interruption from anything more distracting than the cat – who uncharacteristically snuggled in pretty close while I wrote – I was able to focus on the story as I have not yet this month and just write.

In a way, it doesn’t bode well, because sadly, I usually need that nap to get me through the day. At the moment, though, I’m feeling better about my progress today.

Comments»

1. Kristina - November 5, 2012

Best of luck with the rest of NaNoWriMo and the write-ins!

thejinx - November 5, 2012

Thanks!

2. xerce - November 7, 2012

You’re doing better than I am! Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

