jump to navigation

Changes January 23, 2015

Posted by thejinx in art, enduring chaos.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I finished a new drawing last night, my first in over six months:

Sketch22420045It is a simple picture, in many respects, but this drawing is very important to me. Not because of the content, but because of the way it made me feel.

Because I enjoyed working on it. I enjoyed every step of the process – building up the sketch, designing the outfit, finding reference images for things like the hairstyle and anatomy, even learning to work around the limitations of the app I used, as I drew this from start to finish on my tablet. Intimidation reared its head and made it hard to get started at times, but I never had to force myself to work on it or felt discouraged that something wasn’t working and wanted to give up.

I don’t know why or how this changed, but this is a big deal for me, and it led to an even bigger revelation:

I feel good about my art.

I don’t care that it isn’t as good as the artists I follow. I don’t care that there are a lot of things I can’t or at least don’t know how to draw. I don’t care that after so many years I am still learning how to draw faces. I looked through my online gallery last night, both the drawings that kind of make me want to delete almost my entire gallery and the ones I still like, and it just made me want to draw more. For the first time in at least ten years, flaws aren’t the only thing I see, and I’m revelling in the act of creating, itself.

Now if only I had more time to draw.

Comments»

1. Lesley Donaldson (@Bornagainwriter) - April 14, 2015

That you have the ability to create something recognizable and realistic is more than impressive. Striving for improvement isn’t a bad goal, nor should it be discouraging. Life is imperfect and it’s beautiful. Why should your art be less beautiful than life? I love it.

thejinx - April 14, 2015

Thanks so much. (= This is something I have struggled with for a long time, and as an artist yourself, I’m sure you know how much it helps to hear such words of encouragement.


Leave a Reply

